Boys.  

boys                …..what IS it with boys?  

 

 

What is with this ‘tough-guy’ attitude that they seem to default to when they don’t know how to properly communicate with one another?  

Last night my teenage son was involved in an altercation with another boy, relatively new to the area, that easily could have escalated to more physical violence than it did entail.

It frightened him.

It frightens me.  

What was challenging, but kind of cute a few years ago……bad-boys-4….is quickly shifting to boundary exploration and pushing that can rapidly become destructive and potentially dangerous.

tough-kids-smokingEvery day of parenting is now my own exploration of where to set, where to expand, and where to re-define boundaries.  

I’m thankful for the level of communication I have with my son, hopeful that it will continue as he progresses into his teen years, and nervous about which boundary he’ll be pushing next.  What’s around the next corner for us? 

boys-2

Alcohol, drugs, physical boundaries, curfew, sporting prowess, helmet use……there always seems to be ONE more thing he’s exploring, and I’m negotiating boundaries with him on.  

 

…and as he grows, the risks become greater:  the potential fall-out from engaging in a fight, choosing NOT to wear a helmet when snowboarding, or biking, trying a drug at a party.  

I can’t always be there to guide him.  

But hopefully he’ll respect the boundaries I’ve set, and use them occasionally when the peer pressure gets intense and threatens to push his OWN boundaries.  Sometimes it’s helpful to be able to say, “my mom will give me ***** if I do that”, and to have his friends know that’s the truth because they’ve seen him face the consequences of crossing ‘set’ boundaries.

                                    As his youthful innocence 

tough-laughing-boys                                                                                                                                                transitions into acquired wisdom…..

I hope that the boundaries I’ve established for him, serve him in determining what boundaries he’ll set for himself in the years to come.

