That’s a rather provocative statement.  Let me explain.

I’ve really tried to get along with him since we chose to go our separate ways about eight years ago.  I’ve aspired to be that ‘idyllic’ ex-wife, able to co-parent cooperatively, to empathize with his struggles and celebrate all the goodness that comes into his life.

But it doesn’t always seem to work out that way.  Life, and our human foibles get in the way.  The stress of trying to balance new career opportunities and going back to school (both of us are in this situation), old patterns, new challenges – whatever the reason (or excuse), communication these days is NOT going well.

And I’ve (temporarily, I hope) lost my ability to be empathetic to his struggles and challenges.  I just, very simply, don’t like him very much today.

But I still have to figure out how to navigate the places where his involvement with our son, and my relationship and responsibilities with our son intersect.

And to try to guide my son through some of the bumpy bits that are arising these days.

I’ve been working on a blog post re: empathy the past week, but it’s not the leading issue or emotion for me right now.  I need to get past my frustration, my anger and try to find my way back to something more supportive to my son’s needs.

I’m going to take this situation into a therapeutic setting, because I recognize I need some help with this.  And I will share my journey with you, because I figure I’m not the only one struggling with this, but in the meantime, any advice you have regarding how you’ve navigated communication challenges with your ex’s is appreciated.

Back in the early days of being newly separated, two books I found particularly helpful were Debbie Ford’s Spiritual Divorce, and Colin Tipping’s Radical Forgiveness.

I could use an update to my reading list, so book suggestions are also appreciated.

